Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of the EU

Americas

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2026, GU606) review

Updated ยท Compared in: Laptops over โ‚ฌ2,000

ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2026, GU606)
Best gaming laptop

Best for: Gaming and creative work on the go ยท Premium

Our verdict: A slim aluminium gaming laptop with a superb 240Hz OLED, strong RTX 50-series options and genuinely portable weight.

Ad ยท affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Slim, light aluminium body for a gaming laptop
  • Bright, fast 240Hz OLED with excellent colour
  • RTX 5070 to RTX 5090 options
  • Two SSD slots and Wi-Fi 7

Cons

  • Memory is soldered
  • Premium price
  • RTX 5090 is power-limited in a slim chassis

Full review

The Zephyrus G16 has become the default recommendation for anyone who wants a powerful gaming laptop that does not look or weigh like one. The 2026 GU606 moves to Intel's Core Ultra 9 386H, a 16-core Panther Lake chip with a 50 TOPS NPU, and ASUS's spec sheet lists RTX 5070, 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090 graphics, with the top two running at up to 160 W in manual mode.

The 16-inch 2560 x 1600 OLED runs at 240Hz with G-Sync and is rated by ASUS at 1,100 nits peak for HDR, so it suits photo and video editing as well as games. The aluminium chassis is 14.9 mm at its thinnest and weighs 1.85 kg in RTX 5070 form, or 1.95 kg with the vapour-chamber cooling used for the RTX 5070 Ti and above.

The spec list is strong across the board: Wi-Fi 7, a UHS-II SD reader, HDMI 2.1, USB-C charging up to 100 W and a 1080p IR webcam. Memory is soldered at 32GB or 64GB, but there are two M.2 slots for storage. As with any thin gaming laptop, expect the fans to work hard in the performance modes.

The RTX 5070 Ti or 5080 versions are the sweet spot; the RTX 5090 is held back by the slim chassis.

Full specifications

Launch price (RRP)Varies by retailer
Processor (chip)Intel Core Ultra 9 386H
CPU cores16 cores / 16 threads
GraphicsNVIDIA RTX 5070, 5070 Ti, 5080 or 5090 (up to 160 W)
RAM32GB or 64GB LPDDR5X-8533 (soldered)
Storage1TB or 2TB SSD (two M.2 slots)
Screen size16"
Resolution2560 x 1600
Panel / refresh rateOLED 240Hz, anti-reflective, G-Sync
BrightnessUp to 1,100 nits HDR peak
Battery capacity90 Wh
Battery life (claimed)Not published
Weight1.85 kg or 1.95 kg (by GPU)
Thickness14.9 to 17.9 mm
PortsThunderbolt 4, USB-C 10Gbps, 2x USB-A, HDMI 2.1, SD UHS-II, audio
Wi-Fi / BluetoothWi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0
Webcam1080p with IR (Windows Hello)
Operating systemWindows 11 Home (Pro on some)
Backlit keyboardYes (RGB)
Launched2026
Copilot+ PCYes
NPUUp to 50 TOPS (Intel)
USB-C chargingUp to 100 W

Spec check note: ASUS's spec page lists RTX 5070, 5070 Ti, 5080 and 5090. ASUS lists Bluetooth 6.0, which we show. ASUS's tech spec page does not state SDR brightness; the 1,100-nit HDR peak is from ASUS's product page. ASUS does not publish a battery-life claim.

Specifications checked against: ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2026) tech specs, ASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2026) product page

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureASUS ROG Zephyrus G16 (2026, GU606)Apple MacBook Pro 16-inch (M5 Pro)Apple MacBook Pro 14-inch (M5 Pro)Razer Blade 16 (2026, Core Ultra 9 386H)Lenovo Legion Pro 7i Gen 10 (16IAX10H)ASUS ProArt P16 (H7606, Ryzen AI 9)
Best forGaming and creative work on the goVideo editing, 3D, music and codingPros who travelGamers who want long battery lifeMaximum gaming frame ratesPhoto and video editing on Windows
Price bandPremiumPremiumPremiumPremiumPremiumPremium
Launch price (RRP)Varies by retailerNot statedNot statedVaries by retailerVaries by retailerVaries by retailer
Processor (chip)Intel Core Ultra 9 386HApple M5 Pro (M5 Max optional)Apple M5 Pro (M5 Max optional)Intel Core Ultra 9 386HIntel Core Ultra 7 255HX, Ultra 9 275HX or 290HX PlusAMD Ryzen AI 9 HX 370 or Ryzen AI 9 365
CPU cores16 cores / 16 threads18 (6 super + 12 performance)15 (5 super + 10 performance) or 18 cores16 cores / 16 threads20 or 24 cores (by chip)12 cores / 24 threads (HX 370) or 10 / 20
GraphicsNVIDIA RTX 5070, 5070 Ti, 5080 or 5090 (up to 160 W)20-core Apple GPU (32 or 40-core on M5 Max)16 or 20-core Apple GPU (32 or 40-core on M5 Max)NVIDIA RTX 5080 or 5090 (up to 165 W)NVIDIA RTX 5070 Ti (140 W), 5080 or 5090 (175 W)NVIDIA RTX 5060 up to RTX 5090 (by model)
RAM32GB or 64GB LPDDR5X-8533 (soldered)From 24GB (up to 128GB)24GB, 48GB or 64GB (up to 128GB on M5 Max)32GB or 64GB LPDDR5X-9600 (soldered)Up to 64GB DDR5-6400 (two SO-DIMM slots)16GB to 64GB LPDDR5X (soldered)
Storage1TB or 2TB SSD (two M.2 slots)1TB to 4TB SSD (up to 8TB on M5 Max)1TB to 4TB SSD (up to 8TB on M5 Max)1TB or 2TB SSD (second M.2 slot)Two M.2 slots (one PCIe 5.0), up to 2TB each512GB to 2TB SSD (two M.2 slots)

See the comparison โ†’

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Ireland & UK

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
United Kingdom ยท GBPBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Argosโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Veryโ€“Visit shop โ†’
AOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Scanโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Rest of the EU

CountryShopPriceLink
France ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cdiscountโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Dartyโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Belgium ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Luxembourg ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Netherlands ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Spain ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Italy ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Euronicsโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaWorldโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Unieuroโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Portugal ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Wortenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Poland ยท PLNAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Media Expertโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
RTV Euro AGDโ€“Visit shop โ†’
x-komโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Sweden ยท SEKAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Webhallenโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Americas

CountryShopPriceLink
United States ยท USDAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
B&H Photoโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Neweggโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Walmartโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Best Buyโ€“Visit shop โ†’