Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of the EU

Americas

Best tablets from €750 to €1,000 in 2026

Updated · 5 products compared · 22 features compared

Spend €750 to €1,000 and you are buying a tablet that can genuinely stand in for a laptop for many tasks. This bracket includes the iPad Air with Apple's M4 chip, Samsung's Galaxy Tab S11 with the S Pen in the box, Microsoft's Windows-based Surface Pro 12-inch, and top versions of the best Android tablets.

We compared five options on 20 specifications, checked against the manufacturers' own pages. Prices change often, so treat any price shown as a guide and use the buttons to check today's price.

Quick answer: Best overall: Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4). Best Android tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 (S Pen included). Best for Windows apps: Microsoft Surface Pro 12-inch. Best for drawing: Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass Edition.

Comparison table

FeatureApple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)Best overallApple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 (11")Best Android tabletSamsung Galaxy Tab S11 (11")Microsoft Surface Pro 12-inchBest for WindowsMicrosoft Surface Pro 12-inchXiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass EditionBest for drawingXiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass EditionHonor MagicPad 4 (16GB/512GB)Best big OLEDHonor MagicPad 4 (16GB/512GB)
Check prices
Best forMost people who want an iPad that lastsAndroid users and note-takersWindows apps, Office and studySketching, notes and bright roomsFilms and gaming on a large screen
Price bandUpper mid-rangeUpper mid-rangeUpper mid-rangeUpper mid-rangeUpper mid-range
Launch price (RRP)€839 (128GB Wi-Fi)Not statedFrom €969 (Microsoft Ireland)Not statedNot stated
Screen size and type10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD11" Dynamic AMOLED 2X12" PixelSense LCD touchscreen11.2" IPS LCD, anti-glare matte glass12.3" OLED
Resolution2360 x 16402560 x 16002196 x 14643200 x 21363000 x 1920
Refresh rate60Hz120Hz90HzUp to 144HzUp to 165Hz
ChipApple M4 (8-core CPU, 9-core GPU)MediaTek Dimensity 9400+Qualcomm Snapdragon X Plus or X2 PlusQualcomm Snapdragon 8 EliteQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5
RAM12GB12GB16GB12GB16GB
Storage options128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB128GB, 256GB, 512GB256GB (512GB on some models)512GB512GB
microSD slotNoYes, dedicated slotNoNoNo
Rear camera12MP, 4K video13MP, 4K videoYes (resolution not published by Microsoft)50MP, 4K video at up to 60 fps13MP, 4K video
Front camera12MP Center Stage (landscape edge)12MP ultra-wideHD with Windows Hello face unlock32MP ultra-wide9MP
Battery28.93 Wh; up to 10 hrs web or video8,400 mAhUp to 16 hrs video / 12 hrs web9,200 mAh10,100 mAh
ChargingUSB-C (wattage not published)45W wired (charger sold separately)USB-C67W wired66W wired
Weight (Wi-Fi)464 g469 gApprox. 680 gApprox. 494 g450 g
Thickness6.1 mm5.5 mm7.8 mm5.8 mm4.8 mm
Software and updatesiPadOS with Apple Intelligence; update term not publishedAndroid 16 with One UI 8; 7 years of updatesWindows 11 Home or ProAndroid 16 with HyperOS 3; update term not publishedAndroid 16 with MagicOS 10; update term not published
Stylus supportApple Pencil Pro or USB-C, sold separatelyS Pen includedSurface Slim Pen (sold separately)Xiaomi Focus Pen Pro (sold separately)Honor Magic-Pencil 3 (sold separately)
Keyboard accessoryMagic Keyboard for iPad Air (sold separately)Samsung Book Cover Keyboard (sold separately)Surface Pro 12-inch Keyboard (sold separately)Xiaomi Focus Keyboard (sold separately)Honor Smart Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionYes (Apple C1X modem, eSIM only)Yes (5G model)Optional on Snapdragon X2 Plus modelsNo (Wi-Fi only)No (Wi-Fi only)
BiometricsTouch ID (top button)In-display fingerprint sensorWindows Hello face recognitionSide fingerprint sensorNo fingerprint sensor listed
SpeakersLandscape stereo4 speakersStereoQuad speakers, Dolby Atmos8 speakers
VerdictMac-class M4 power, 12GB of memory and Apple Intelligence in a light 464 g tablet.A slim, premium Android tablet with a 120Hz AMOLED screen and the S Pen in the box.A full Windows 11 PC in a light tablet body, ideal if you need desktop apps rather than mobile ones.A paper-like matte screen, flagship speed and 512GB of storage in one edition.The largest, fastest-refreshing OLED screen in this price range, with 16GB RAM and 512GB storage.

Detailed write-ups

Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)
Best overall

Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4)

Best for: Most people who want an iPad that lasts · Upper mid-range

Mac-class M4 power, 12GB of memory and Apple Intelligence in a light 464 g tablet.

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Fast M4 chip with 12GB memory
  • Apple Pencil Pro support
  • Light and thin
  • Huge app and accessory choice

Cons

  • 60Hz LCD, not OLED
  • 128GB fills up quickly
  • Keyboard and pencil cost extra

The 11-inch iPad Air with the M4 chip is the tablet we would recommend to most people spending under €1,000. The M4 is the same chip family Apple uses in Macs, and with 12GB of memory it handles demanding apps, games, video editing and Apple Intelligence features comfortably, so it should feel quick for many years.

The 10.86-inch Liquid Retina screen is laminated, colour-accurate and reaches 500 nits. It works with the Apple Pencil Pro, with squeeze and hover features, and with the Magic Keyboard for iPad Air, which turns it into a capable small laptop. At 464 g and 6.1 mm it is lighter and slimmer than the basic iPad.

Apple quotes up to 10 hours of web or video. Cellular models use Apple's own C1X modem with 5G and start at €1,009.

The main compromise is the screen: it is a 60Hz LCD, not the 120Hz OLED found on the Galaxy Tab S11 or iPad Pro, so scrolling and pen strokes are not quite as fluid and blacks are not as deep. The starting 128GB is enough for streaming and documents, but choose 256GB if you download films or record video, because iPads cannot take a memory card.

Key specifications
Launch price (RRP)€839 (128GB Wi-Fi)
Screen size and type10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD
Resolution2360 x 1640
Refresh rate60Hz
ChipApple M4 (8-core CPU, 9-core GPU)
RAM12GB
Storage options128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1TB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera12MP, 4K video
Front camera12MP Center Stage (landscape edge)
Battery28.93 Wh; up to 10 hrs web or video
ChargingUSB-C (wattage not published)
Weight (Wi-Fi)464 g
Thickness6.1 mm
Software and updatesiPadOS with Apple Intelligence; update term not published
Stylus supportApple Pencil Pro or USB-C, sold separately
Keyboard accessoryMagic Keyboard for iPad Air (sold separately)
5G optionYes (Apple C1X modem, eSIM only)
BiometricsTouch ID (top button)
SpeakersLandscape stereo
Brightness500 nits
Cellular priceFrom €1,009
Also available13-inch model (see over €1,000 page)

Spec check note: Apple does not list a refresh rate for the iPad Air; 60Hz is the standard non-ProMotion iPad rate. Price is Apple Ireland's price in October 2026.

Specifications checked against: Apple UK iPad Air tech specs, Apple Ireland iPad Air prices

Back to the table ↑

Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 (11")
Best Android tablet

Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 (11")

Best for: Android users and note-takers · Upper mid-range

A slim, premium Android tablet with a 120Hz AMOLED screen and the S Pen in the box.

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • S Pen included
  • Bright 120Hz AMOLED screen
  • microSD slot and 5G option
  • Seven years of updates

Cons

  • Charger not included
  • Fewer tablet-optimised apps than iPad
  • Newer Tab S12 series now on sale

The Galaxy Tab S11 is the best Android alternative to the iPad Air, and in some ways it is the better-equipped tablet. Its 11-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X screen refreshes at 120Hz and reaches peaks of 1,600 nits, so it is smoother, brighter and higher in contrast than the iPad Air's LCD. Films look superb.

Samsung puts the S Pen in the box, so there is no extra pen to budget for, unlike the iPad Air. Samsung Notes, Circle to Search and Galaxy AI tools for tidying handwriting and summarising notes make it a strong study and work tablet. A dedicated microSD slot lets you add storage cheaply, and there is an in-display fingerprint sensor.

MediaTek's Dimensity 9400+ with 12GB of RAM is fast for games and multitasking, and Samsung DeX gives you a windowed, desktop-style layout with a keyboard. The 8,400 mAh battery supports 45W charging, but you need to buy the charger. Samsung commits to seven years of updates.

Samsung launched the Galaxy Tab S12+ and S12 Ultra in late September 2026, but there is no new 11-inch model yet, so the Tab S11 remains the current compact Samsung flagship and is increasingly discounted.

Key specifications
Launch price (RRP)Not stated
Screen size and type11" Dynamic AMOLED 2X
Resolution2560 x 1600
Refresh rate120Hz
ChipMediaTek Dimensity 9400+
RAM12GB
Storage options128GB, 256GB, 512GB
microSD slotYes, dedicated slot
Rear camera13MP, 4K video
Front camera12MP ultra-wide
Battery8,400 mAh
Charging45W wired (charger sold separately)
Weight (Wi-Fi)469 g
Thickness5.5 mm
Software and updatesAndroid 16 with One UI 8; 7 years of updates
Stylus supportS Pen included
Keyboard accessorySamsung Book Cover Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionYes (5G model)
BiometricsIn-display fingerprint sensor
Speakers4 speakers
Peak brightness1,600 nits
Desktop modeSamsung DeX
AI featuresGalaxy AI

Spec check note: Samsung's UK page confirms the 128GB, 256GB and 512GB configurations with 12GB of RAM. Weight is shown as 469 g; Samsung's regional pages vary slightly by model version. We do not show a price because we could not confirm one on Samsung's own pages.

Specifications checked against: Samsung UK Galaxy Tab S11 page

Back to the table ↑

Microsoft Surface Pro 12-inch
Best for Windows

Microsoft Surface Pro 12-inch

Best for: Windows apps, Office and study · Upper mid-range

A full Windows 11 PC in a light tablet body, ideal if you need desktop apps rather than mobile ones.

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Runs full Windows 11 desktop apps
  • 16GB RAM as standard
  • Windows Hello face unlock
  • Long claimed battery life

Cons

  • Keyboard and pen cost extra
  • Heavier than the iPad Air and Tab S11
  • Fewer touch-first apps and games

The Surface Pro 12-inch is a different kind of tablet. Instead of iPadOS or Android it runs full Windows 11, so you can use desktop Microsoft Office, browser extensions, Windows-only work or college software and file management just as you would on a laptop. For students and office workers that can be decisive.

It uses a Qualcomm Snapdragon chip and comes with 16GB of RAM, which is generous for a Windows machine at this price. As a Copilot+ PC it supports Microsoft's on-device Windows AI features. Microsoft quotes up to 16 hours of video playback or 12 hours of web browsing, and Windows Hello face recognition signs you in quickly.

The 12-inch LCD has a 2196 x 1464 resolution and a 90Hz refresh rate. It is sharp enough, but not as vivid as the AMOLED on the Galaxy Tab S11. At about 680 g it is heavier than the iPads and Samsung here, and it relies on two USB-C ports rather than the older Surface Connect charger.

The catch is the total cost: the keyboard and Slim Pen are sold separately and add a lot to the €969 starting price. Also note that Windows is less polished than iPadOS or Android for purely touch-based use like reading and casual games.

Key specifications
Launch price (RRP)From €969 (Microsoft Ireland)
Screen size and type12" PixelSense LCD touchscreen
Resolution2196 x 1464
Refresh rate90Hz
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon X Plus or X2 Plus
RAM16GB
Storage options256GB (512GB on some models)
microSD slotNo
Rear cameraYes (resolution not published by Microsoft)
Front cameraHD with Windows Hello face unlock
BatteryUp to 16 hrs video / 12 hrs web
ChargingUSB-C
Weight (Wi-Fi)Approx. 680 g
Thickness7.8 mm
Software and updatesWindows 11 Home or Pro
Stylus supportSurface Slim Pen (sold separately)
Keyboard accessorySurface Pro 12-inch Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionOptional on Snapdragon X2 Plus models
BiometricsWindows Hello face recognition
SpeakersStereo
Ports2x USB-C
Copilot+ PCYes
WirelessWi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 5.4 (X2 Plus model)

Spec check note: In October 2026 Microsoft Ireland still lists the 12-inch Surface Pro from €969 with the Snapdragon X Plus (8-core) chip, while the refreshed Snapdragon X2 Plus version launched on 13 October 2026; Irish pricing for the X2 Plus version was not yet shown. Microsoft lists 680 g; a retail listing for the X2 Plus model says 686 g. Microsoft does not publish rear camera resolution, RAM or storage options on its page; 16GB/256GB and 7.8 mm thickness come from a retail listing.

Specifications checked against: Microsoft Ireland Surface Pro page, Microsoft Surface Pro tech specs, JB Hi-Fi NZ listing (16GB/256GB, thickness, Wi-Fi)

Back to the table ↑

Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass Edition
Best for drawing

Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass Edition

Best for: Sketching, notes and bright rooms · Upper mid-range

A paper-like matte screen, flagship speed and 512GB of storage in one edition.

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Anti-glare matte screen
  • Paper-like feel for pen work
  • 512GB storage as standard
  • Flagship Snapdragon 8 Elite

Cons

  • Matte finish slightly softens the image
  • No microSD or 5G
  • Pen sold separately

The Matte Glass Edition is the top version of the Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro, and it is aimed squarely at people who write and draw. Its etched, anti-glare glass cuts reflections from windows and overhead lights and gives the pen a slightly textured, paper-like feel, which many artists and note-takers prefer to slippery glossy glass. Apple charges extra for a similar nano-texture finish only on its most expensive iPad Pro models.

Underneath it is the same tablet as the standard Pad 8 Pro: an 11.2-inch 3200 x 2136 LCD at up to 144Hz, Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Elite, a 9,200 mAh battery with 67W charging, a side fingerprint sensor and a 50MP rear camera. This edition comes with 12GB of RAM and 512GB of storage, so you will not need to worry about space for files, games or offline video.

The matte coating does make the image very slightly less crisp and punchy than glossy glass, so if you mainly watch films, the standard version is better. There is no microSD slot, no 5G model, and Xiaomi has not published an update term. The Focus Pen Pro is sold separately; budget for it, because the matte screen is wasted without a pen.

Key specifications
Launch price (RRP)Not stated
Screen size and type11.2" IPS LCD, anti-glare matte glass
Resolution3200 x 2136
Refresh rateUp to 144Hz
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite
RAM12GB
Storage options512GB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera50MP, 4K video at up to 60 fps
Front camera32MP ultra-wide
Battery9,200 mAh
Charging67W wired
Weight (Wi-Fi)Approx. 494 g
Thickness5.8 mm
Software and updatesAndroid 16 with HyperOS 3; update term not published
Stylus supportXiaomi Focus Pen Pro (sold separately)
Keyboard accessoryXiaomi Focus Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionNo (Wi-Fi only)
BiometricsSide fingerprint sensor
SpeakersQuad speakers, Dolby Atmos
Peak brightness800 nits
Standard versionSee the €500 to €750 page

Spec check note: Specs are from Xiaomi's regional specification pages, which give 494 g for the matte glass version. We do not show a price because we could not confirm one on Xiaomi's own pages.

Specifications checked against: Xiaomi UK Pad 8 Pro specifications, Xiaomi global Pad 8 Pro specifications

Back to the table ↑

Honor MagicPad 4 (16GB/512GB)
Best big OLED

Honor MagicPad 4 (16GB/512GB)

Best for: Films and gaming on a large screen · Upper mid-range

The largest, fastest-refreshing OLED screen in this price range, with 16GB RAM and 512GB storage.

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • 12.3" OLED at up to 165Hz
  • Only 450 g and 4.8 mm
  • 16GB RAM, 512GB storage
  • Cheap official accessories

Cons

  • No microSD, 5G or fingerprint sensor
  • Update term not published
  • Busier software than Samsung

This is the top configuration of the Honor MagicPad 4, and it is the best big-screen entertainment tablet in this price band. You get the same 12.3-inch OLED display as the cheaper version, with deep blacks, HDR peaks of 2,400 nits and a refresh rate of up to 165Hz, plus 16GB of RAM and 512GB of storage for large games and offline films.

What makes it special is how little it weighs for its size. At 450 g and 4.8 mm thick it is lighter than the 11-inch iPad Air and Galaxy Tab S11 despite a much larger screen. Eight speakers deliver wide, full sound, and the Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 chip is flagship-class, so demanding games run very smoothly. The 10,100 mAh battery charges at 66W.

Honor sells its Magic-Pencil 3 and Smart Keyboard separately.

The compromises match the 256GB model: no memory card slot, no 5G, no fingerprint sensor listed, and no published update commitment, so it is less of a long-term bet than the Galaxy Tab S11. If 256GB is enough for you, the 12GB/256GB version on our €500 to €750 page is the better buy.

Key specifications
Launch price (RRP)Not stated
Screen size and type12.3" OLED
Resolution3000 x 1920
Refresh rateUp to 165Hz
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5
RAM16GB
Storage options512GB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera13MP, 4K video
Front camera9MP
Battery10,100 mAh
Charging66W wired
Weight (Wi-Fi)450 g
Thickness4.8 mm
Software and updatesAndroid 16 with MagicOS 10; update term not published
Stylus supportHonor Magic-Pencil 3 (sold separately)
Keyboard accessoryHonor Smart Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionNo (Wi-Fi only)
BiometricsNo fingerprint sensor listed
Speakers8 speakers
Peak HDR brightness2,400 nits
PWM dimming5,280Hz
12GB/256GB versionSee the €500 to €750 page

Spec check note: Specs are from Honor's global specification page. Honor's pages do not list a fingerprint sensor or a cellular version, so we show none. We do not show a price because we could not confirm one on Honor's own pages.

Specifications checked against: Honor global MagicPad4 specifications, Honor UK MagicPad4 buy page

Back to the table ↑

Buying guide

iPad, Android or Windows?

Choose an iPad if you want the best tablet apps, long support and you own an iPhone. Choose Samsung if you prefer Android, want a pen included and a memory card slot. Choose a Surface Pro if you need full Windows desktop software such as Office desktop apps, specialist college programs or company tools.

Do you need a keyboard?

If you plan to type a lot, add the keyboard price before comparing. Keyboards are sold separately by every brand here; check each brand's accessory price too. If you mostly type, a laptop or 2-in-1 laptop can be better value than a tablet plus keyboard.

Screen technology at this price

The Galaxy Tab S11 and Honor MagicPad 4 use OLED or AMOLED screens with 120Hz or faster refresh, which look and feel smoother than the 60Hz LCD on the iPad Air. Matte or anti-glare glass, as on the Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass Edition, reduces reflections and adds grip for pens.

Storage and long-term value

iPads and Surface tablets cannot take memory cards, so choose enough storage at the start: 256GB is a good minimum if you download films or games. Samsung includes a microSD slot. Samsung commits to seven years of updates for the Tab S11; Honor and Xiaomi have not published update terms.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best tablet under €1,000?

For most people the iPad Air 11-inch with M4 is the best tablet under €1,000, balancing power, weight and long software support. The Samsung Galaxy Tab S11 is the best Android choice and includes the S Pen.

iPad Air or Galaxy Tab S11?

The iPad Air has the faster M4 chip and the better app selection. The Galaxy Tab S11 has a smoother, brighter 120Hz AMOLED screen, includes the S Pen and has a microSD slot. Pick the iPad if you use an iPhone, and the Samsung if you use Android.

Can a tablet replace a laptop?

The Surface Pro 12-inch can, because it runs full Windows 11. An iPad Air or Galaxy Tab S11 with a keyboard handles email, documents and browsing well, but specialist desktop software and heavy multitasking are still easier on a laptop or Windows tablet.

How much is the iPad Air in Ireland?

In October 2026 Apple Ireland lists the 11-inch iPad Air (M4) from €839 for 128GB Wi-Fi and the 13-inch from €1,039. Retailers often discount, so use the price buttons.

Which tablet is best for drawing under €1,000?

The iPad Air with Apple Pencil Pro has the best range of art apps. If you prefer a paper-like feel, the Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro Matte Glass Edition has an anti-glare etched screen. The Galaxy Tab S11 includes the S Pen, saving you the pen cost.