Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of Europe

Americas

Sony DualSense Edge Wireless Controller review

Updated ยท Compared in: Best gaming controllers

Sony DualSense Edge Wireless Controller
Best for PS5

Best for: Competitive PS5 players ยท Premium

Our verdict: Sony's pro pad adds back buttons, swappable caps and profile switching to the DualSense feel, at a high price.

Ad ยท affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Four back buttons in two styles
  • Remappable buttons with saved profiles
  • Adjustable stick sensitivity and dead zones
  • Carrying case that charges the pad

Cons

  • Sony does not publish battery life or weight
  • Expensive for a controller
  • Works with PS5 and PC only

Full review

The DualSense Edge is the high-end version of the PlayStation 5 pad and is aimed at players who want to tune how their controller behaves. On top of the usual DualSense haptic feedback, adaptive triggers, microphone and motion controls, Sony adds back buttons, profiles and extra caps.

Two half dome and two lever back buttons can be assigned to other inputs, and button mapping can be saved per game. You can adjust stick sensitivity, stick and trigger dead zones and vibration intensity, and you can swap profiles in the middle of a game using the Fn and Options buttons. Standard, high dome and low dome stick caps are in the box, along with a braided USB cable and a case that also allows charging.

On PC the controller works wirelessly over Bluetooth or wired, with Sony's PlayStation Accessories app on Windows for firmware updates and profile editing. Haptic feedback and adaptive triggers may need a USB connection on PC and depend on game support.

Sony's product page does not give battery life, weight or stick sensor type, so we mark them as not stated. It also offers no Xbox, Switch or mobile support. If you only want a comfortable PS5 pad, the standard DualSense is the cheaper choice, but the Edge gives real control over how the pad feels.

Full specifications

PlatformsPS5; PC (via PlayStation Accessories app)
Wireless typeBluetooth
Wired useYes, braided USB cable included
BatteryNot stated
WeightNot stated
Stick technologyNot stated (adjustable sensitivity and dead zones)
TriggersAdaptive triggers, tunable
Back buttonsYes: two half dome and two lever buttons
RemappingYes, per-game profiles saved on the controller
CustomisationStandard, high dome and low dome stick caps
Other featuresHaptic feedback, microphone, motion controls, carrying case
SizeNot stated
CaseCarrying case also allows USB charging

Spec check note: Sony's pages do not list battery life, weight, dimensions or stick technology, and independent measurements differ, so those cells are Not stated rather than guessed.

Specifications checked against: PlayStation UK DualSense Edge page, PlayStation UK DualSense page

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureSony DualSense Edge Wireless ControllerMicrosoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2Nintendo Switch 2 Pro ControllerMicrosoft Xbox Wireless Controller8BitDo Ultimate 2 Wireless ControllerGameSir Cyclone 2 Multiplatform Controller
Best forCompetitive PS5 playersSerious Xbox and PC playersSwitch 2 on the TVEveryday Xbox and PC playPC and Steam Deck playersBudget multi-platform play
Price bandPremiumPremiumUpper mid-rangeBudgetMid-rangeMid-range
PlatformsPS5; PC (via PlayStation Accessories app)Xbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows 10/11, iOS, AndroidNintendo Switch 2 onlyXbox Series X|S, Xbox One, Windows 10/11, iOS, AndroidWindows 10 (1903) or later, Android 13+, SteamOS, Apple devices (26 or later)PC, Steam, Switch, Android, iOS
Wireless typeBluetoothXbox Wireless (console) and BluetoothBluetooth and NFCXbox Wireless (console) and Bluetooth2.4G wireless dongle and Bluetooth (Android and Apple)2.4 GHz dongle and Bluetooth
Wired useYes, braided USB cable includedYes, 9 ft USB-C cable includedUSB-C for chargingUSB-C cable needed for Windows app mapping (not stated as included)Yes, USB (Windows)Yes, USB-C
BatteryNot statedInternal rechargeable, up to 40 hoursAbout 40 hours (estimate); charging about 3 hours2 x AA batteries, up to 40 hoursNot stated (integrated charging dock)860 mAh (hours not stated)
WeightNot statedAbout 345 g (with paddles, faceted D-pad and standard sticks)About 235 gNot stated246 g306.9 g
Stick technologyNot stated (adjustable sensitivity and dead zones)Not stated (adjustable tension, 3 settings)Not statedNot statedTMR joysticks, 12-bit ADCMag-Res TMR sticks

See the comparison โ†’

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Ireland & UK

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
United Kingdom ยท GBPAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Argosโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Veryโ€“Visit shop โ†’
AOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Scanโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Rest of Europe

CountryShopPriceLink
Germany ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cyberportโ€“Visit shop โ†’
OTTOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
notebooksbilliger.deโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Austria ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cyberportโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
notebooksbilliger.deโ€“Visit shop โ†’
France ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cdiscountโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Dartyโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Belgium ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Luxembourg ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Netherlands ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Spain ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Italy ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Euronicsโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaWorldโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Unieuroโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Portugal ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Wortenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Poland ยท PLNAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Media Expertโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
RTV Euro AGDโ€“Visit shop โ†’
x-komโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Sweden ยท SEKAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Webhallenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Denmark ยท DKKBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Elgigantenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Powerโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Proshopโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Norway ยท NOKElkjรธpโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Powerโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Proshopโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Greece ยท EURMediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Plaisioโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Publicโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Skroutzโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Croatia ยท EURInstar informatikaโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Linksโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Americas

CountryShopPriceLink
United States ยท USDAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
B&H Photoโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Neweggโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Walmartโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Best Buyโ€“Visit shop โ†’