Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of Europe

Brompton Electric C Line (4-speed) review

Updated · Compared in: Electric folding bikes

Brompton Electric C Line (4-speed)
Best for commuters

Best for: Mixed train and walking commutes · Premium

Our verdict: The classic fold in a compact electric version, with a quick-release 345 Wh battery, though torque is modest and assist speed is not stated.
Show shops for:

Ad · affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Famously compact folded package
  • Removable 345 Wh battery
  • Light for an e-bike at 17.6 kg
  • Rolls when folded with SuperRoll option

Cons

  • Only 24 Nm of torque
  • Premium price
  • Small 16 in wheels feel less stable

Full review

Brompton's electric C Line takes the familiar three-step fold and adds a 250 W rear hub motor and a 345 Wh battery that clicks out in one move. The page lists 17.6 kg with the battery and 13.85 kg without, so the bike can be carried on its own in a way the heavier folders here cannot. The folded package is about 585 x 565 x 270 mm, small enough for under a desk or a train luggage rack.

Torque is 24 Nm, so the motor suits flat and gently rolling city streets rather than steep climbs. Brompton claims up to 90 km on a charge, taking about five hours to fill, but as always that depends on assist mode, rider weight and terrain. The four-speed drivetrain has a 163 percent gear range, braking is by dual pivot calipers, and Lezyne lights and mudguards are included.

Brompton's page does not publish the assist speed limit or a maximum rider weight, so confirm both with the retailer. Optional roller features add a rolling mode when folded. The small 16 in wheels give nimble handling but reward a smooth line on rough surfaces. If your journey mixes riding, trains and carrying, this is the most practical electric folding bike here, though it costs far more than its rivals.

Full specifications

Motor250 W rear hub
Max torque24 Nm
Assistance cuts out atNot published
Battery345 Wh Greenway
Removable batteryYes, one-click
Claimed rangeUp to 90 km
Weight (brand)From 17.6 kg with battery (13.85 kg without)
Wheel size16 in, Schwalbe Marathon Racer
Folded size585 x 565 x 270 mm
GearsBrompton 4-speed
BrakesBrompton dual pivot calipers
Max loadNot published
Rider heightNot published
EquipmentLezyne e115 stVZO lights and mudguards
FoldThree-step fold; Shopper and Suitcase modes via the seatpost

Spec check note: Brompton's page shows the folded size without units; we read it as millimetres. The page does not state the assist speed limit or maximum rider weight, so these are shown as not published. Brompton's own other listings quote older 300 Wh batteries; we use the current 345 Wh figures.

Specifications checked against: Brompton UK product page (Electric C Line, 4-speed)

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureBrompton Electric C Line (4-speed)Btwin E-Fold 500ADO Air 20 ProTern Vektron P7iTern Vektron P8iBrompton Electric P Line (4-speed)
Best forMixed train and walking commutesOccasional rides on a tight budgetClean, low-maintenance commutingDaily commuting with a full kitHills and heavy loadsCarrying it often, price no object
Price bandPremiumBudgetMid-rangeUpper mid-rangePremiumPremium
Motor250 W rear hub250 W rear hub250 W Bafang H700, 2-speed auto-shifting hubBosch Active Line PlusBosch PerformanceNot published
Max torque24 Nm35 Nm50 Nm50 Nm75 NmNot published
Assistance cuts out atNot published25 km/h25 km/h25 km/h (EU)25 km/h (EU)Not published
Battery345 Wh Greenway252 Wh (36 V, 7 Ah), on the rear rack; 417 Wh option sold separately370 Wh (37 V, 10 Ah), in the seatpostBosch PowerPack 400 or 545 WhBosch PowerPack 400 or 545 Wh345 Wh Greenway
Removable batteryYes, one-clickYes, key-lockedYesNot publishedNot publishedYes, one-click
Claimed rangeUp to 90 kmUp to 50 km (Eco); 40 km Normal, 30 km BoostUp to 100 km545 Wh: 64-140 km; 400 Wh: 46-101 km545 Wh: 55-120 km; 400 Wh: 40-87 kmUp to 90 km

See the comparison →

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Prices in Ireland and United Kingdom

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Decathlon–Visit shop →
United Kingdom · GBPAmazon–Visit shop →
Argos–Visit shop →
Evans Cycles–Visit shop →
Other countries

Rest of Europe

CountryShopPriceLink
Germany · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
BIKE24–Visit shop →
ROSE Bikes–Visit shop →
Austria · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
BIKE24–Visit shop →
ROSE Bikes–Visit shop →
France · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Alltricks–Visit shop →
Belgium · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Coolblue–Visit shop →
Bol–Visit shop →
Netherlands · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Coolblue–Visit shop →
Bol–Visit shop →
Spain · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Italy · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Portugal · EURAmazon–Visit shop →
Poland · PLNAmazon–Visit shop →
Sweden · SEKAmazon–Visit shop →