Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of the EU

Americas

Apple iPad 11-inch (A16) review

Updated ยท Compared in: Tablets โ‚ฌ500 to โ‚ฌ750

Apple iPad 11-inch (A16)
Best for most people

Best for: Families, streaming and schoolwork ยท Mid-range

Our verdict: The default family tablet: huge app choice, long battery life and 128GB as standard.

Ad ยท affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Best app and accessory choice
  • 128GB as standard
  • Touch ID and 5G option
  • Lightweight and well built

Cons

  • 60Hz screen
  • Only the basic USB-C Apple Pencil
  • Apple Intelligence not listed

Full review

Apple's entry-level iPad is still the tablet we would recommend to most households. It is simple to use, has the widest choice of tablet apps and games, gets software support for many years, and works neatly with iPhones and Macs. At Apple Ireland it now starts at โ‚ฌ519 with 128GB, which puts it in this price bracket.

The 10.86-inch Liquid Retina screen has the same 2360 x 1640 resolution and 500 nits brightness as the 11-inch iPad Air. It refreshes at 60Hz, so it is not as smooth as the 144Hz and 165Hz Android tablets here, and the display is not laminated, so the image sits slightly below the glass. For streaming, reading and homework that rarely matters.

The A16 chip is quick for everyday apps and games. Apple quotes up to 10 hours of web or video, Touch ID is built into the top button, and the front camera sits on the long edge, which makes video calls look natural in landscape. A Wi-Fi + Cellular model with 5G is available from โ‚ฌ689.

The limits: it works only with the basic Apple Pencil (USB-C), and Apple's spec page does not list Apple Intelligence support. If you want those features, the iPad Air is the step up.

Full specifications

Launch price (RRP)โ‚ฌ519 (128GB Wi-Fi)
Screen size and type10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD
Resolution2360 x 1640
Refresh rate60Hz
ChipApple A16
RAMNot published by Apple
Storage options128GB, 256GB, 512GB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera12MP, 4K video
Front camera12MP Center Stage (landscape edge)
Battery28.93 Wh; up to 10 hrs web or video
ChargingUSB-C (wattage not published)
Weight (Wi-Fi)477 g
Thickness7.0 mm
Software and updatesiPadOS; Apple does not publish an update term
Stylus supportApple Pencil (USB-C), sold separately
Keyboard accessoryMagic Keyboard Folio (sold separately)
5G optionYes (Wi-Fi + Cellular, eSIM only)
BiometricsTouch ID (top button)
SpeakersLandscape stereo
Brightness500 nits
Cellular priceFrom โ‚ฌ689

Spec check note: Apple does not list RAM or refresh rate; 60Hz is the standard non-ProMotion iPad rate. Apple's spec page does not mention Apple Intelligence, so we do not claim support. Price is Apple Ireland's price in October 2026.

Specifications checked against: Apple UK iPad (A16) tech specs, Apple Ireland iPad prices

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureApple iPad 11-inch (A16)Honor MagicPad 4 (12.3")Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro)OnePlus Pad 3 (13.2")Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro
Best forFamilies, streaming and schoolworkFilms, gaming and travelReading, travel and one-handed useBig-screen work and entertainmentGamers and power users on Android
Price bandMid-rangeMid-rangeUpper mid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Launch price (RRP)โ‚ฌ519 (128GB Wi-Fi)Not statedโ‚ฌ699 (128GB Wi-Fi)Not statedNot stated
Screen size and type10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD12.3" OLED8.3" Liquid Retina IPS LCD13.2" IPS LCD11.2" IPS LCD
Resolution2360 x 16403000 x 19202266 x 14883392 x 24003200 x 2136
Refresh rate60HzUp to 165Hz60HzUp to 144HzUp to 144Hz
ChipApple A16Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5Apple A17 ProQualcomm Snapdragon 8 EliteQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite
RAMNot published by Apple12GB or 16GBNot published by Apple12GB or 16GB8GB, 12GB or 16GB

See the comparison โ†’

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Ireland & UK

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
United Kingdom ยท GBPBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Argosโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Veryโ€“Visit shop โ†’
AOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Scanโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Rest of the EU

CountryShopPriceLink
France ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cdiscountโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Dartyโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Belgium ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Luxembourg ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Netherlands ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Spain ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Italy ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Euronicsโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaWorldโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Unieuroโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Portugal ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Wortenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Poland ยท PLNAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Media Expertโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
RTV Euro AGDโ€“Visit shop โ†’
x-komโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Sweden ยท SEKAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Webhallenโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Americas

CountryShopPriceLink
United States ยท USDAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
B&H Photoโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Neweggโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Walmartโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Best Buyโ€“Visit shop โ†’