Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of the EU

Americas

Honor MagicPad 4 (12.3") review

Updated ยท Compared in: Tablets โ‚ฌ500 to โ‚ฌ750

Honor MagicPad 4 (12.3")
Best Android tablet

Best for: Films, gaming and travel ยท Mid-range

Our verdict: A big 165Hz OLED screen in a remarkably thin and light 450 g body, with a flagship chip.

Ad ยท affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Bright 12.3" OLED at up to 165Hz
  • Very thin (4.8 mm) and light (450 g)
  • Flagship Snapdragon 8 Gen 5
  • Fast 66W charging

Cons

  • No microSD or 5G
  • Update term not published
  • Pen and keyboard extra

Full review

The Honor MagicPad 4 is the most impressive piece of hardware on this page. It packs a 12.3-inch OLED screen into a body just 4.8 mm thick and 450 g, which is lighter than the smaller 11-inch iPad. OLED means deep blacks and rich contrast for films, and the refresh rate of up to 165Hz is the highest on this page, so games and scrolling feel extremely fluid.

Honor quotes HDR peaks of 2,400 nits, and it uses high-frequency 5,280Hz PWM dimming, which some people who get eye strain from OLED screens find more comfortable. Eight speakers give it big, wide sound for a tablet.

Inside is Qualcomm's Snapdragon 8 Gen 5 with 12GB or 16GB of RAM, so performance is flagship-class. The 10,100 mAh battery charges at 66W, and Honor also sells a Magic-Pencil 3 and a Smart Keyboard separately.

The compromises are the usual ones for Android tablets at this price: no microSD slot, no 5G version, no fingerprint sensor listed, and no published commitment on how many years of updates it will get. Honor's software is busier than Samsung's or stock Android too. As a pure screen for films, games and travel, though, it is hard to beat for the money.

Full specifications

Launch price (RRP)Not stated
Screen size and type12.3" OLED
Resolution3000 x 1920
Refresh rateUp to 165Hz
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5
RAM12GB or 16GB
Storage options256GB, 512GB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera13MP, 4K video
Front camera9MP
Battery10,100 mAh
Charging66W wired
Weight (Wi-Fi)450 g
Thickness4.8 mm
Software and updatesAndroid 16 with MagicOS 10; update term not published
Stylus supportHonor Magic-Pencil 3 (sold separately)
Keyboard accessoryHonor Smart Keyboard (sold separately)
5G optionNo (Wi-Fi only)
BiometricsNo fingerprint sensor listed
Speakers8 speakers
Peak HDR brightness2,400 nits
PWM dimming5,280Hz
WirelessWi-Fi 7

Spec check note: Specs are from Honor's global specification page. Honor's pages do not list a fingerprint sensor or a cellular version, so we show none. Euro pricing is not shown because we could not confirm it on Honor's own pages.

Specifications checked against: Honor global MagicPad4 specifications, Honor UK MagicPad4 buy page

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureHonor MagicPad 4 (12.3")Apple iPad 11-inch (A16)Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro)OnePlus Pad 3 (13.2")Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro
Best forFilms, gaming and travelFamilies, streaming and schoolworkReading, travel and one-handed useBig-screen work and entertainmentGamers and power users on Android
Price bandMid-rangeMid-rangeUpper mid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Launch price (RRP)Not statedโ‚ฌ519 (128GB Wi-Fi)โ‚ฌ699 (128GB Wi-Fi)Not statedNot stated
Screen size and type12.3" OLED10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD8.3" Liquid Retina IPS LCD13.2" IPS LCD11.2" IPS LCD
Resolution3000 x 19202360 x 16402266 x 14883392 x 24003200 x 2136
Refresh rateUp to 165Hz60Hz60HzUp to 144HzUp to 144Hz
ChipQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5Apple A16Apple A17 ProQualcomm Snapdragon 8 EliteQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite
RAM12GB or 16GBNot published by AppleNot published by Apple12GB or 16GB8GB, 12GB or 16GB

See the comparison โ†’

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Ireland & UK

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
United Kingdom ยท GBPBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Argosโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Veryโ€“Visit shop โ†’
AOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Scanโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Rest of the EU

CountryShopPriceLink
France ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cdiscountโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Dartyโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Belgium ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Luxembourg ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Netherlands ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Spain ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Italy ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Euronicsโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaWorldโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Unieuroโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Portugal ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Wortenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Poland ยท PLNAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Media Expertโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
RTV Euro AGDโ€“Visit shop โ†’
x-komโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Sweden ยท SEKAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Webhallenโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Americas

CountryShopPriceLink
United States ยท USDAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
B&H Photoโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Neweggโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Walmartโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Best Buyโ€“Visit shop โ†’