Where are you shopping from?

We show retailers that deliver to your country. The language switches to match, and you can change it any time.

Ireland & UK

Rest of the EU

Americas

Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro) review

Updated ยท Compared in: Tablets โ‚ฌ500 to โ‚ฌ750

Apple iPad mini (A17 Pro)
Best small tablet

Best for: Reading, travel and one-handed use ยท Upper mid-range

Our verdict: A powerful tablet you can hold in one hand, with Apple Pencil Pro and Apple Intelligence support.

Ad ยท affiliate links

Compare prices in other countries

Each shop shows its own price, currency and delivery terms. Not every shop delivers abroad, and taxes can differ.

Pros

  • Light at 293 g, easy to hold one-handed
  • Fast A17 Pro chip
  • Apple Pencil Pro support
  • Apple Intelligence

Cons

  • Expensive for its size
  • 60Hz screen
  • No official keyboard

Full review

The iPad mini is a tablet you can comfortably hold in one hand for an hour, and nothing else on this page comes close for that. At 293 g it weighs about the same as a large paperback, and the 8.3-inch screen is ideal for reading, maps, recipes, note-taking in meetings and gaming on the sofa.

The A17 Pro chip is the same family used in iPhone 15 Pro models, so it is fast and supports Apple Intelligence features such as writing tools and image clean-up. It works with the Apple Pencil Pro, with squeeze gestures and hover previews, which makes the mini a favourite digital notebook for students and professionals.

The 2266 x 1488 screen is sharp at 326 pixels per inch and reaches 500 nits, but it refreshes at 60Hz, so it is not as smooth as the OLED Android tablets here. Apple quotes up to 10 hours of web or video, and the USB-C port supports faster 10Gb/s data transfers. A 5G cellular version starts at โ‚ฌ869.

The catch is value. At โ‚ฌ699 you are paying a lot for a small screen, and there is no official keyboard. If you want the biggest screen for your money, the OnePlus Pad 3 or Honor MagicPad 4 offer far more screen for similar money.

Full specifications

Launch price (RRP)โ‚ฌ699 (128GB Wi-Fi)
Screen size and type8.3" Liquid Retina IPS LCD
Resolution2266 x 1488
Refresh rate60Hz
ChipApple A17 Pro
RAMNot published by Apple
Storage options128GB, 256GB, 512GB
microSD slotNo
Rear camera12MP, 4K video at up to 60 fps
Front camera12MP Center Stage
Battery19.3 Wh; up to 10 hrs web or video
ChargingUSB-C (up to 10Gb/s data; wattage not published)
Weight (Wi-Fi)293 g
Thickness6.3 mm
Software and updatesiPadOS with Apple Intelligence; update term not published
Stylus supportApple Pencil Pro or USB-C, sold separately
Keyboard accessoryNo official keyboard (Bluetooth works)
5G optionYes (Wi-Fi + Cellular, eSIM only)
BiometricsTouch ID (top button)
SpeakersLandscape stereo
Brightness500 nits
Cellular priceFrom โ‚ฌ869

Spec check note: Apple does not list RAM or refresh rate; 60Hz is the standard non-ProMotion iPad rate. Price is Apple Ireland's price in October 2026.

Specifications checked against: Apple UK iPad mini tech specs, Apple Ireland iPad mini prices

How it compares with its rivals

FeatureApple iPad mini (A17 Pro)Apple iPad 11-inch (A16)Honor MagicPad 4 (12.3")OnePlus Pad 3 (13.2")Xiaomi Pad 8 Pro
Best forReading, travel and one-handed useFamilies, streaming and schoolworkFilms, gaming and travelBig-screen work and entertainmentGamers and power users on Android
Price bandUpper mid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-rangeMid-range
Launch price (RRP)โ‚ฌ699 (128GB Wi-Fi)โ‚ฌ519 (128GB Wi-Fi)Not statedNot statedNot stated
Screen size and type8.3" Liquid Retina IPS LCD10.86" Liquid Retina IPS LCD12.3" OLED13.2" IPS LCD11.2" IPS LCD
Resolution2266 x 14882360 x 16403000 x 19203392 x 24003200 x 2136
Refresh rate60Hz60HzUp to 165HzUp to 144HzUp to 144Hz
ChipApple A17 ProApple A16Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 5Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 EliteQualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite
RAMNot published by AppleNot published by Apple12GB or 16GB12GB or 16GB8GB, 12GB or 16GB

See the comparison โ†’

Prices in every region

We haven't confirmed prices for this product yet. Use the links to see today's price at each shop.

Prices include VAT where the shop shows it and may have changed since we checked. Delivery costs and stock vary by country, so check on the shop's site before you buy.

Ireland & UK

CountryShopPriceLink
Ireland ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
United Kingdom ยท GBPBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Argosโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Currysโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Veryโ€“Visit shop โ†’
AOโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Laptops Directโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Scanโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Rest of the EU

CountryShopPriceLink
France ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Cdiscountโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Dartyโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Belgium ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Back Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Luxembourg ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Netherlands ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
bolโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Coolblueโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Spain ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Fnacโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Italy ยท EURBack Marketโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Amazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Euronicsโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaWorldโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Unieuroโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Portugal ยท EURAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Wortenโ€“Visit shop โ†’
PcComponentesโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Poland ยท PLNAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Media Expertโ€“Visit shop โ†’
MediaMarktโ€“Visit shop โ†’
RTV Euro AGDโ€“Visit shop โ†’
x-komโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Sweden ยท SEKAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Komplettโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Webhallenโ€“Visit shop โ†’

Americas

CountryShopPriceLink
United States ยท USDAmazonโ€“Visit shop โ†’
B&H Photoโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Neweggโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Walmartโ€“Visit shop โ†’
Best Buyโ€“Visit shop โ†’